Magnet Schools of America Selects 2016 Regional Teachers of the Year

Washington, DC, March 12, 2016 – Magnet Schools of America (MSA), the national association for magnet and theme-based schools, is pleased to announce its 2016 Regional Teachers of the Year. These awards recognize outstanding magnet school teachers who exemplify instructional excellence in the classroom. The recipients will be honored during Magnet Schools of America’s 34th National Conference in Miami, Florida May, 3-7, 2016. They are all eligible to be chosen as the National Magnet School Teacher of the Year. This award will be announced on the last day of the conference during a special awards ceremony.

“We are proud to acknowledge these magnet educators for their dedication and tremendous skill in the classroom,” said Magnet Schools of America Executive Director Todd Mann. “These teachers are to be commended for their ability to connect with students and inspire them to embrace learning and strive for excellence in their studies. They are also recognized for their demonstrated leadership within their schools and communities.”

2015 Regional Teachers of-the-Year

  • REGION I – Suzanne Dionne, Primary Visual Arts Teacher, Rotella Interdistrict Magnet School, Waterbury Public Schools, Connecticut, Theme(s): Fine and Performing Arts
  • REGION II – Margaret S. Peeling, Magnet Teacher, Halstead Academy, Baltimore County Public Schools, Maryland, Theme(s): Science and the Arts
  • REGION III – Vivian Gonzalez, Magnet Music Teacher, South Miami K-8 Center Miami-Dade County Public Schools, Florida, Theme(s): Expressive Arts
  • REGION IV – Ronny Reddig, Social Studies Teacher, Piedmont Middle School, CharlotteMecklenburg Schools, North Carolina, Theme(s): International Baccalaureate
  • REGION V – Mary Legoria, Science Specialist, Westdale Heights Academic Magnet, East Baton Rouge Parish Schools, Louisiana, Theme(s): Academics with a focus on Environmental Science, Math and Technology
  •  REGION VIII – Matthew Waynee, Cinematic Arts Teacher, LAUSD/USC Cinematic Arts and Engineering Magnet, Los Angeles Unified School District, California, Theme(s): Cinematic Arts; Engineering

Regional Teachers of the Year are selected from MSA’s eight regions through a competitive application process. To be chosen, candidates must be nominated and submit a narrative application that describes their professional and educational background, teaching philosophy, community and family engagement efforts, and successes in the classroom. They must also submit three recommendation letters. All awardees are members of Magnet Schools of America and have served as a magnet school teacher for a minimum of three years. Teacher of-the-Year applications are reviewed and scored by a panel of magnet educators.

Magnets in the News » Press Releases » Magnet Schools of America Selects 2016 Regional Teachers of the Year

Learn how to become a Nationally Certified Magnet School

Raise the level of performance consistent throughout school districts nationwide and creates a platform from which all magnet schools can flourish. Magnet Schools of America’s national certification process is designed to recognize the hard work of the best magnet schools in the nation and to help them as they grow.

Translate »