What are Magnet Schools?

Magnet schools are built on the foundation of five pillars and are free public elementary and secondary schools of choice that are operated by school districts or a consortium of districts. Magnet schools have a focused theme and aligned curricula in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM), Fine and Performing Arts, International Baccalaureate, International Studies, MicroSociety, Career and Technical Education (CTE), World Languages (immersion and non-immersion) and many others.

Magnet Schools of America

MSA is a national nonprofit professional education association whose members are schools and school districts.  The association represents and, is a resource to, magnet schools, parents, teachers, school boards, administrators, business leaders, community organizations and institutions of higher education.

Our mission is providing leadership for high quality innovative programs that promote choice equity, diversity, and academic excellence for all students.

Success Story

A Conversation from the Classroom

This month, we had the opportunity to talk with Jillian Schulte, Magnet Coordinator and 21st Century Learning Specialist for the Kenwood Leadership Academy, which is part of the Cedar Rapids Community School District in Iowa. The purpose of the conversation was to learn about the district’s new leadership magnet school that is based on Steven Covey’s Leader in Me program.


SNAPSHOT of Magnet Schools

Magnet Schools of America commissioned a study with UNCC’s – Urban Institute to compile a comprehensive and current count of the number of magnet schools across the country. We are proud to share this new data along with stories that illustrate the transformative power of magnet schools.


Notice of Open Board Positions

Magnet Schools of America (MSA) is accepting applications and letters of interest for election to the Board of Directors for 2018-2020. The open positions are for:

Regional Directors: Regions II, IV, VI, and VIII




Magnet Schools of America Announces 2018 Nationally Certified Magnet Schools

Washington, DC, March 20, 2018— Magnet Schools of America (MSA), the national association of magnet and theme-based schools, announces the nationally certified magnet schools for 2018. These 38 schools located in 12 states (AL, CA, CT, FL, GA, LA, MN, NC, NV, SC, TN, and TX) successfully completed a nine-month evaluation process and demonstrated through evidence, reflection, and strategic action that they have established the Magnet School Standards of Excellence in their schools.



Take A Look At Our


Our monthly e-Choice newsletter includes the latest news and information from the magnet school community. It features stories about theme-based magnet programs and the district leaders, principals, and teachers who make them thrive.

Learn More

2018 Policy Training Conference: Where Policy and the Classroom Intersect

As states and school districts begin to prepare to implement the Every Student Succeeds Act, it is imperative that magnet school leaders and educators understand the implications of this comprehensive law and know what to expect as it is rolled out for the first time next school year. Join us February 7-9, 2018 in Washington, DC. Meet us where policy and the classroom intersect!


Social Feed: #MagnetSchlsMSA

Learn how to become a Nationally Certified Magnet School

Raise the level of performance consistent throughout school districts nationwide and creates a platform from which all magnet schools can flourish. Magnet Schools of America’s national certification process is designed to recognize the hard work of the best magnet schools in the nation and to help them as they grow.

Translate »